clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ducks Clinch Pacific Division, Jennings, Defeat Capitals 2-0 and Will Face Nashville In Round One

Improbable as it may be, the Ducks enter the playoffs with another banner, and some hardware already secured.

The Anaheim Ducks have won the Pacific Division for four years in a row, and will face the Nashville Predators in the first round of the 2016 Stanley Cup Playoffs after defeating the Washington Capitals 2-0 in the final game of the regular season.

Second period goals by team leading goal-scorer Corey Perry and rookie Nick Ritchie gave the Ducks all the offense they needed as Frederik Andersen made 24 saves to earn his second shutout of the season and help Anaheim secure their first William M. Jennings trophy for giving up the fewest goals against in the regular season. John Gibson became the first rookie goalie to earn a share of the Jennings since Corey Schneider shared it with Roberto Luongo in the 2010-11 season.

Anaheim finished the regular season with both the best power play and best penalty kill percentage. They are the first team since the 1984-85 New York Islanders to accomplish this feat. The 2003 New Jersey Devils are the last Stanley Cup champion to finish the regular season with the best penalty kill in the league, while the 1994 New York Rangers are the last champions to finish with the best power play. The last team to win the Cup after having finished top five in both power play and penalty kill was the 2007 Ducks.

The Ducks and Predators regular seasons series saw the home team win every game, with Nashville winning two of the three games. However, the teams have not met since November 17. The Ducks and Predators have met once in the playoffs, with Nashville winning the 10-11 first round series in six games. Jered *something something* Smithson scored the overtime game-winning goal in game five, and Nashville closed out in game six at home.

Gibson will be Anaheim's game one starter, with the series beginning on Friday, April 15 at Honda Center at 7:30 PM. Game two is Sunday, April 17 at 7:30 PM, with games three and four coming in Nashville on April 19 and 21 at 9:30 and 8 PM PST. The remaining to-be-determined games of the series all have scheduling information to be determined.