clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State at University of Minnesota: Lines, open thread and how to watch

Three Ducks prospects take the ice tonight for the Golden Gophers.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Minnesota Golden Gophers forward Blake McLaughlin (27) skates with the puck during a regular season Big 10 Conference hockey game between the Minnesota Golden Gophers and Michigan Wolverines on December 8, 2018 at Yost Ice Arena in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Photo by Scott W. Grau/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Without NHL hockey through the end of the year, we’re going to focus in on prospects hockey. The Anaheim Ducks have three prospects playing for the University of Minnesota Golden Gophers hockey program: Blake McLaughlin (2018 draft), Jack Perbix (2018 draft) and Jackson LaCombe (2019 draft), making the team an easy choice to follow.

So far, the team has played a two-game series against the Penn State University Nittany Lions late last week, winning both games. Perbix had an assist in Thursday’s 4-1 win, while McLaughlin had two power play assists in Friday’s 3-2 win.

Monday and Tuesday will see Minnesota take on the Ohio State Buckeyes hockey team, opening Ohio’s season. The Buckeyes retained 19 players from last season, giving them a roster of six seniors, four juniors, 11 sophomores, five freshmen and one “redshirt” freshman. Quinn Preston was second in the club last year with 15 goals, making him the top-scoring returner. Senior goaltender Tommy Nappier is a force, ranking eighth with 33 career wins, second in save percentage (.934) and fourth in goals-against average (1.92) among active NCAA goaltenders.

Minnesota has gone 31-8-5 all-time against Ohio State, and 17-2-3 on home ice.



Blake McLaughlin — Samuel Walker — Brandon McManus
Sampo Ranta — Scott Reedy — Jack Perbix
Jonny Sorensen — Ben Meyers — Bryce Brodzinski
Cullen Munson — Jaxon Nelson — Nathan Burke
Mason Nevers

Matt Staudacher — Jackson LaCombe
Ryan Johnson — Brock Faber
Ben Brinkman — Mike Koster

Jack LaFontaine
Jared Moe
Justen Close


Tate Singleton — Eugene Fadyeyev — Matt Cassidy
Mark Cheremeta — Gustaf Westlund — Travis Treloar
Austin Pooley — Patrick Guzzo — Kamil Sadlocha
Michael Gildon — Jaedon Leslie — Quinn Preston
Joe Dunlap

Evan McIntyre — Grant Gabriele
James Marooney — Layton Ahac
Ryan O’Connell — Dominic Vidoli

Tommy Nappier
Ryan Snowden
Evan Moyse

How to Watch

Puck drop is at 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on Big Ten Network and streamed on the FOX Sports App and fuboTV.