clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cam Fowler to represent Ducks in NHL Player Gaming Challenge

The NHL is now an Esports league.

ANAHEIM, CA - JANUARY 09: Cam Fowler #4 of the Anaheim Ducks skates during the game against the Dallas Stars at Honda Center on January 9, 2020 in Anaheim, California. Photo by Debora Robinson/NHLI via Getty Images

Taking on a new activity after finishing all 12 seasons of The Big Bang Theory for some reason, Cam Fowler will be representing the Anaheim Ducks in the NHL’s Player Gaming Challenge, announced earlier today. All 31 teams have at least one representative, though some teams will compete as a tandem. NHL Seattle will also be participating, represented by Luke Willson of the Seattle Seahawks.

From the release:

Over the course of four weeks, beginning April 30, each Club will be represented by one or two current players and featured in a one-time matchup against another Club. Weekly matchups, storylines and broadcast details will be revealed at the beginning of each week. This League esports activation in EA SPORTS™ NHL®20 is a fun and unique way to engage hockey and gaming fans and is supported by the National Hockey League Players’ Association.

As part of the campaign, the NHL Foundation and Electronic Arts will donate a combined $100,000 to the CDC Foundation’s COVID-19 relief efforts, and have created the hashtag #HockeyAtHome to promote social distancing measures. All featured matches will be streamed on the NHL’s social platforms, including Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook Premiere and

Here’s the full list of participants:

Anaheim Ducks: Cam Fowler
Arizona Coyotes: Conor Garland, Clayton Keller
Boston Bruins: Jake DeBrusk, Charlie McAvoy
Buffalo Sabres: Brandon Montour
Calgary Flames: Noah Hanifin, Matthew Tkachuk
Carolina Hurricanes: Warren Foegele
Chicago Blackhawks: Drake Caggiula, Alex DeBrincat
Columbus Blue Jackets: Elvis Merzlikins, Zach Werenski
Colorado Avalanche: J.T. Compher
Dallas Stars: Stephen Johns, Jamie Oleksiak
Detroit Red Wings: Madison Bowey, Anthony Mantha
Edmonton Oilers: Caleb Jones, Darnell Nurse
Florida Panthers: Jonathan Huberdeau
Los Angeles Kings: Michael Amadio, Blake Lizotte
Minnesota Wild: Devan Dubnyk, Jordan Greenway
Montreal Canadiens: Victor Mete, Nick Suzuki
Nashville Predators: Filip Forsberg
New Jersey Devils: Mackenzie Blackwood
New York Islanders: Matt Martin
New York Rangers: Chris Kreider
NHL Seattle: Luke Willson, Seattle Seahawks (NFL)
Ottawa Senators: Brady Tkachuk, Chris Tierney
Philadelphia Flyers: James van Riemsdyk
Pittsburgh Penguins: Zach Aston-Reese, Bryan Rust
San Jose Sharks: Evander Kane, Marcus Sorensen
St Louis Blues: Colton Parayko, Robert Thomas
Tampa Bay Lightning: Tyler Johnson
Toronto Maple Leafs: Zach Hyman
Vancouver Canucks: Thatcher Demko, Adam Gaudette
Vegas Golden Knights: Ryan Reaves, Alex Tuch
Washington Capitals: Evgeny Kuznetsov
Winnipeg Jets: Anthony Bitetto, Kyle Connor

For more information and to read the full release, click here.