clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs, 5/29: Start times, how to watch & open thread

The Bruins and Islanders open the second round tonight.

The Bruins Brad Marchand beats Islanders goalie Semyon Varlamov for a second period goal during a regular season NHL game on May 10, 2021 at TD Garden in Boston, MA. Photo by Jim Davis/The Boston Globe via Getty Images

North Division First Round

4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET — Toronto Maple Leafs at Montreal Canadiens
Game 6, Maple Leafs lead 3-2
NBCSN, SN, CBC, TVAS

The Montreal Canadiens are hoping to force a Game 7, after going down 3-1 in the series against the Toronto Maple Leafs. They held out for a 4-3 overtime win on Thursday to ensure tonight’s Game 6, but three consecutive elimination games wears on any team. If Game 7 is necessary, the Winnipeg Jets will have to wait until Monday night to find out who they’ll face in Round 2.

East Division Second Round

5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET — New York Islanders at Boston Bruins
Game 1, Series tied 0-0
NBC, SN360, TVAS2

Opening up Round 2 will be the top two teams of the East Division, the Boston Bruins and New York Islanders. The Bruins have earned home ice, which may give them an edge in an otherwise evenly matched series. The Islanders are riding a rookie goaltender in Ilya Sorokin, who came up huge for them in Round 1 against the Pittsburgh Penguins. Sorokin will continue to be tested against the Bruins’ top line of Brad Marchand, Patrice Bergeron and David Pastrnak, who have a combined eight goals across five playoff games so far.