clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ducks will pick 3rd overall in 2021 NHL Draft

The Ducks slide down just one spot, as the Kraken win second overall.

National Hockey League Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly announces the Anaheim Ducks #3 overall draft position during the 2021 NHL Draft Lottery on June 02, 2021 at the NHL Network’s studio in Secaucus, New Jersey. Photo by Mike Stobe/NHLI via Getty Images

The Anaheim Ducks did not win one of the two available picks in the 2021 Draft Lottery and will pick third overall. The Buffalo Sabres, who finished with the worst record in the league, won the first overall pick and the Seattle Kraken leap-frogged the Ducks by winning the second selection.

The Ducks have never selected at third, though they selected Oleg Tverdovsky (1994) and Bobby Ryan (2005) at second overall, as well as Paul Kariya (1993) and Chad Kilger (1995) at fourth overall. Though they did not win a lottery pick, they still finished one spot above the worst-possible finish and three spots ahead of last year’s draft position.

Losing out on Owen Power is unfortunate, but there’s a wealth of high-end defenders in this draft class’ top-ten, any of which would not seem out of place taken at third, including the youngest Hughes brother Luke, or Simon Edvinsson or Brandt Clarke. The forward group includes several potentially NHL-ready players. There’s a lot of talent in this draft class and the Ducks are poised to take advantage.

This is the full result from the 2021 Draft Lottery:

2021 NHL Draft Lottery Results

Draft Position Team Change
Draft Position Team Change
1 Buffalo Sabres 0
2 Seattle Kraken 1
3 Anaheim Ducks -1
4 New Jersey Devils 0
5 Columbus Blue Jackets 0
6 Detroit Red Wings 0
7 San Jose Sharks 0
8 Los Angeles Kings 0
9 Vancouver Canucks 0
10 Ottawa Senators 0
11 Chicago Blackhawks 0
12 Calgary Flames 0
13 Philadelphia Flyers 0
14 Dallas Stars 0
15 New York Rangers 0

The 2021 NHL Entry Draft will be held virtually again this year, due to the on-going coronavirus pandemic. The first round will be held on Friday, July 23 and rounds 2-7 will be on Saturday, July 24.